Basil Pesto Pasta (GF + Vege)

My friend (hi Amy!) has convinced me to try Junk Free June, so I thought I’d add a few healthy weeknight meals for inspiration! This one takes less than half an hour to make, it’s DELICIOUS and satisfies a carb-lovers pasta craving without being too heavy and sickly. It’s also gluten-free and vegetarian.IMG_2457

My absolute favourite brand Ceres Organics does a gluten-free spaghetti made from quinoa and rice which isn’t gross (like a lot of gluten-free pasta) and is so filling!

I made my own basil pesto for this (which I will post once I perfect my recipe) but you can use whatever you can find at the supermarket.

Ingredients

  • 1 packet Ceres Organics quinoa rice spaghetti (or another pasta of your choice)
  • 1/2 packet feta (I used goat feta), chopped
  • 1 punnet cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 handfuls spinach, roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup (ish) basil pesto

Method

  1. Cook the pasta in salted boiling water IMG_4115according to the packet instructions
  2. While the pasta cooks, prepare your pesto (if making your own)
  3. Chop the feta, tomatoes and spinach
  4. Drain the pasta
  5. Mix in the pesto first, a bit at a time to get it evenly distributed
  6. Add the feta, tomatoes and spinach
  7. Add salt and pepper to taste

Enjoy!

– The Stuffed Unicorn

Leave a Reply

