Millet Porridge with Butternut and Courgette

Ok so… it sounds gross. I know. BUT. It’s super yum! Millet has a delicate and slightly nutty flavour, paired with butternut and a bit of honey… Yum! You can’t really taste the courgette in this, it’s more to sneak in an extra serve of veggies.

I got a pack of millet in my monthly I Am Co subscription box (highly recommend!) and my mum reminded me that she used to make porridge out of it with pumpkin. I also recently saw a yummy oat porridge recipe that included grated courgette, so I decided to do a bit of a mashup and see how it turned out!

I know courgette and pumpkin are pretty savoury, but with the addition of milk (I used coconut), honey and cinnamon, it makes the perfect slightly sweet breakfast dish. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Makes about 3 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 cup millet
  • 2 1/2 – 3 cups milk/liquid depending on desired consistency – I used half coconut milk half water
  • 1 1/2 cups butternut squash, cubed (skin on if you’re adventurous!)
  • 1 courgette, grated
  • 2-3 tsp honey to taste
  • 1 tsp coconut oil (optional)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C while you prep your veggies
  2. Toss your butternut with cinnamon (and coconut oil if you want) and bake in the oven for approx 30 minutes
  3. Place the millet and 2 cups of liquid in a pot on a medium-high heat
  4. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer
  5. Add the grated courgette and honey
  6. Stir occasionally while the millet cooks (10-15 minutes, longer if you want it really mushy)
  7. Add more liquid if you want a more watery consistency
  8. Add the butternut when cooked and mix through

Enjoy!

– The Stuffed Unicorn

Leave a Reply

